WDRC Club Meeting for January 2018

Thursday, January 25, 2018
6:00 PM – 9:00 PM
Humanist Hall, 390 27th St., Oakland, CA

Wellstone Club Meeting
Thursday, January 25th, 2018

Potluck at 6PM – meeting at 6:45PM
Please bring something to share!


We will hold a candidates forum and endorsement meeting for the Assembly District 15 seat. We will invite all the declared candidates, hold a moderated forum and Q & A, and vote for a club endorsement using Ranked Choice Voting (RCV).

Humanist Hall
390 27th St.
(between Telegraph and Broadway)


From Jack: 

As you likely know, there are nine (9) declared candidates for the 15th Assembly District.  Most likely, you have not had the opportunity to see or hear from these candidates as a group.  Fortunately, thanks to the African – American Caucus of the Democratic Party, a video of their Nov 4 Candidate’s Forum is available on-line.  The link to this forum is:
African American Democratic Caucus 15th AD Forum Please take the time to watch this forum.  It will give you a very good idea of who these candidates are and how they view politics.

Just so that everyone is more or less on the same page, all of these candidates will appear on the June 8 Primary Ballot.  The top two will run off in November 2018.  It’s a very long campaign.

In addition, please look at the candidate websites.  As well, these websites will help to give you a better idea about the candidates and their supporters.  These websites (in alphabetical order) are:

Judy Appel – https://www.judyappel.com/

Ben Bartlett – https://www.benbartlettca.com/

Jovanka Beckles – http://www.jovanka.org/

Dan Kalb – https://www.dankalb.net/

Andy Katz – https://andykatz.com/

Rochelle Pardue-Okimoto – http://www.rochellead15.com/

Owen Poindexter – https://www.owenpoindexter.com/

Cheryl Sudduth – https://www.crowdpac.com/campaigns/338340/cheryl-sudduth

Buffy Wicks – https://buffywicks.com/